He Lāhui Hawaiʻi Ma O Ka Hoʻomomona Hou I Ka ʻĀina:
Nā Moʻolelo Lōkahi Ma Ka Mokupuni ʻO Oʻahu

(A Hawaiian Nation Through The Restoration Of ʻĀina Momona:
Stories Of Unity– Among Ourselves, That Which Feeds, Community, And Spirit–On The Island Of Oʻahu)

Aja Oona Grande
Monday, April 22, 2024

4:00 pm – 6:00 pm (Eastern Time)
On campus: E51-095

Dissertation Committee
Christine Walley
SHASS Dean’s Distinguished Professor of Anthropology
Committee Chair

Kate Brown
Thomas M. Siebel Distinguished Professor in History of Science (STS)

Stefan Helmreich
Elting E. Morison Professor of Anthropology

Mary Tuti Baker
Assistant Professor
Fairhaven College of Interdisciplinary Studies
Western Washington University

Zoom link available upon request to hasts@mit.edu.
Auto-captioning will be available during the presentation. If you have other specific access needs, please write to hasts@mit.edu immediately.

Congratulations  to all the HASTS students who presented in panels/roundtables at the AAACASCA 2023 and to the following students who received awards:


Gumperz Graduate Essay Prize Co-winner

Timothy Y. Loh, “al-lugha al-’umm/‘arabi mukassar: Competing discourses about Jordanian Sign Language (LIU) in Amman.”


Alcohol, Drugs, and Tobacco Study Group Graduate Student Paper Prize

Alex Rewegan, “Cannabinoids in the (Reproductive) System: Historicizing the Sciences of Cannabis and Pregnancy.


Association of Latinx & Latina/o Anthropologists Graduate Student Paper Prize

Ambar Reyes, ” Los delivreros: solidarity network, digital platforms and collective identity.”